New Zealand tour of Bangladesh 2021
Responsive image

4th T20I: Nasum, Mustafizur star in Bangladesh’s 6-wicket win over New Zealand, lead series 3-1

08 Sep 2021

Riding on the superb bowling performances of left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed (4/10) and left-arm medium pacer Mustafizur Rahaman (4/ 12), Bangladesh comprehensively defeated New Zealand by six wickets in the fourth T20I match played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on Wednesday.

With this win, Bangladesh are leading the five-match T20I series by 301 and it is their first ever series win over New Zealand in any format.

Opting to bat first, New Zealand had a terrible start as they lost their openers cheaply. Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed dismissed both the openers Rachin Ravindra (0) and Finn Allen (12).

Skipper Tom Latham (21) and Will Young (46) put on a valuable 35 runs for this third wicket. Mahedi Hasan broke the dangerous-looking partnership by dismissing New Zealand skipper Tom Latham.

Thereafter, New Zealand kept losing wickets at the regular intervals and were bundled out for a paltry total of 93 runs in 19.3 overs. Mustafizur Rahman cleaned up the New Zealand tail.

Chasing a small total, Bangladesh too lost three quick wickets up front. Litton Das (6), Shakib Al Hasan (8) and Mushifiqur Rahim (0) were back in the hut with scorecard reading 32 for 3 in 6 overs.

For New Zealand, Ajaj Patel (2/9) and Cole McConchie (1/34) were the wicket takers.


New Zealand tour of India 2021

1st Test, Kanpur, 25 - 29 Nov 2021

Ind Ind
345/10 & 234/7 dec (. ov)
296/10 & 165/9 (. ov) (Target 284

Match drawn

Pakistan tour of Bangladesh 2021

1st Test, Chattogram, 26-30 Nov 2021

Ban Ban
330/10 & 157/10 (. ov)
Pak Pak
286/10 & 203/2 (. ov) (Target 202

Pakistan won by 8 wickets

Netherlands tour of South Africa 2021

1st ODI, Centurion, 26 Nov 2021

277/8 & / (50. ov)
Neth Neth
11/0 & / (2. ov) (Target

No result

West Indies tour of Sri Lanka 2021

1st Test, Galle, 21-25 Nov 2021

386/10 & 191/6 dec (. ov)
230/10 & 160/10 (. ov) (Target 348

Sri Lanka won by 187 runs