ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Responsive image

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj strike in their first deliveries, script World Cup history

02 Nov 2023

India pacers were breathing fire at the Wankhede Stadium, leaving Sri Lanka reeling in their chase of 358 in their World Cup 2023 match on Thursday, November 2. Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj produced one of the finest new-ball bowling spells of the World Cup as they got the ball to move both ways in the early evening in Mumbai.

Jasprit Bumrah struck with the first delivery of the Sri Lankan innings, sending Pathum Nissanka out LBW for 0. It was a terrific outswinger and it came at pace as Nissanka was squared up as he fell over. Nissanka took a review but the on-field umpire's call of OUT stayed. The Wankhede roared in delight as it was the first time an Indian bowler struck in the first delivery of the opposition's innings in a World Cup match.

Jasprit Bumrah could have had one more in his first over but the two Sri Lankan batters, Dimuth Karunaratne and Sadeera Samarawickrama, survived the terrific opening burst.

However, Mohammed Siraj, who opened the bowling from the other end in Mumbai, did not waste time before joining the party as he struck with the first delivery of his spell, removing Dimuth Karunaratne with an inswinging delivery. Karunaratne, who is one of Sri Lanka's finest Test batters, had no answers to the inswinger as he was out for 0.


India tour of Zimbabwe 2024

5th T20I, Harare, 14 Jul 2024

Ind Ind
167/6 & / (20. ov)
Zim Zim
125/10 & / (18.3 ov) (Target

India won by 42 runs

India tour of Zimbabwe 2024

4th T20I, Harare, 13 Jul 2024

Zim Zim
157/10 & / (20. ov)
Ind Ind
156/0 & / (15.2 ov) (Target

India won by 10 wickets

India tour of Zimbabwe 2024

3rd T20I, Harare, 10 Jul 2024

Ind Ind
182/4 & / (20. ov)
Zim Zim
159/6 & / (20. ov) (Target

India won by 23 runs

West Indies tour of England 2024

1st Test, London,10-14 Jul 2024

121/10 & 136/10 (. ov)
Eng Eng
371/10 & / (. ov) (Target

England won by an innings and 114 runs